Tagged: uncategorized

In recovery, but

- by admin


I'm healing don't worry.


 

Foreign Film Love

- by admin

Last night after doing a bit of work on our costumes for March of the Robots (it's only a few weeks away! Are you excited?) Ty and I settled in with some Netflix and wound up watching this movie called Den du Frygter or Fear Me Not.

I have to say, the Danish know how to make a movie. If you haven't had the chance to see it, log yourself on to Netflix (and if you don't have Netflix -get it, you silly goose! It's so cheap!) and give it a watch the next time you're in the mood for something darker. Because while the film isn't 'horror', it's definitely a psychological film.

The plot centres around Mikael, a normal if not bored husband who has been in a funk lately and has taken some time off work to try and sort himself out. When the film starts he's not doing a very good job of it, and asks his brother-in-law who is a doctor to allow him to partake in a study testing out a new type of anti-depressant (or it could be anti-anxiety, they don't say).

Needless to say things don't go as well as one could hope, and a series of events occur that had us giving each other uneasy glances as the scene progressed. If there's one thing this film knows how to do, it's to make you feel uncomfortable.

I'll tell you straight-up that I saw the plot twist coming a mile away, and it's a typical European film in the sense that the ending is very anti-climactic, but I don't feel like either of these things take away from the overall feel of the film itself, which is one of general unease and discomfort. There were definitely a few moments when I felt my body tense up as I was watching the scene unfold.

If you're in the mood for something darker, foreign (listening to them speak Danish was so interesting!) and with superb acting -Ulrich Thomsen does a great job!- I'd highly recommend this film. Take a look at the trailer and let me know your impression:


Fear Me Not - Trailer

Another film I adore is the Swedish film Låt den rätte komma in or Let The Right One In. It's about vampires (well, one), and really impressed me with how subtly creepy it was. There's also apparently an American remake of the film... but we'll just pretend it doesn't exist.

Have you seen it?



Additionally, the weather here lately has been near-unbearable for May, it's windy and cold and has been raining since the weekend. I'm trying not to let it get the best of me and am have been using this Scale of the Universe to cheer myself up. It's a super cool site, check it out! (seriously!)
 

When there is nothing left to burn you have to set yourself on fire

- by admin

I can't go to every concert I'd like all the time, and one I'm sad I missed is the Stars show at The Pyramid last night (couldn't find someone to go with me, whomp whomp)

Do you know Stars?

Have you heard how good they are?

Here, have a listen:


is it not love?

Some other solid tracks include:


as well as:


Thumbs up if this one made you re-evaluate your last relationship!

Speaking of which, this song was my exposure to Stars. It reminds me of living in Ontario with my ex and driving up for 401 at night.


at least something good came from that experience, right?

Stars ILU!
 

N3rdery

- by admin

If it wasn't already apparent that I'm a massive n3rd then it should be by what I spent the vast majority of my evening doing:

Yup, getting my SNES emulator on and playing some good old-fashioned Super Mario RPG

This game was a staple of my childhood, guys. I remember being in elementary school when this came out (I want to say gr4 but I could be wrong) and let me tell you there were many fistfights and instances of verbal trickery involved in getting my brothers to hand over their 'turn' on the highly-coveted SNES.

Though if we're going to get onto the subject of the embarrassing awesome things I did as a kid to get my videogame time on it's worth mentioning that I, as a kid, would wake up on Saturday/Sunday mornings at 5-6am in order to get some solo in-the-dark VG tamz in.

Yes I realize how drastic that sounds, but I have two younger brothers who coveted bonding time with those cartridges as much as I did and honestly, there's nothing like experiencing this particular game alone, uninterrupted:


Ooh just hearing that opening tune makes my heart go pitter-pat.

Luckily now for me I'm an adult and on top of all the neat stuff I can do like party, drink and stay up all night, I can now add 'play videogames by myself and not share' to that list. I can come home from work or class, crack open a b33r and indulge in some one-on-one time with my video games.

Listen to me, how do I even have a boyfriend?

Oh, because he's just as excited about this coming out as I am:

 

Wine Fest Cop-Out Post

- by admin

Totally not in the mood to blog right now.
Maybe later.
Here are some snaps from the Wpg Wine Fest drunkenly taken with my iPhone
I just realized Teri is in all of them
and I'm totally okay with that


 

Mother Lover

- by admin


Okay, so it's not technically hip-hop for Hip Hop Sunday


but it's a bitchin' tune, and it's Mother's Day


word to your moms


 

For your wine

- by admin

This is the pose Ty will be striking all night at the Winnipeg Wine Festival.

it's one of the highlights of our year

45$ to pour as much wine as you can down your gullet in three hours

followed by tasty snacks at our place afterward

I may or may not rock a dress of Joan Holloway-esque magnitude

as long as my feet can handle sky-high gold heels for three hours

otherwise I have the cutest dress ever on reserve

and yes this became a post about what I'm wearing tonight

deal with it


 

I have no idea what I just watched

- by admin



and odds are neither will you.
 

Love and Marriage

- by admin

Last night my brother aged out of Cadets and of course the fam showed up to support him, which by this point means Ty, too, and my dad introduced him to a family friend as "this Ty, my future son-in-law". And in fact, whenever I mention him to a family member inevitably I get asked
so is he the one you're going to marry?.

Maybe this shouldn't bug me, but it does.My 'rents say it's because I've never datted anyone better and that's true, but why do I have to lock that ish down right now with a ring and a big to-do neither of us can afford?

Besides, what about the fact that I'm only twenty-three?
Or that we've only been together a year and a half?
Or that I've only just completed my first year of university?
Or, god forbid, what if we break up?
(fat chance of that hapening)

I just find it interesting that, despite being such a "forward thinking" society, the instant you become serious then that becomes the next step. What about personal goals and aspirations or self-discovery? There are a lot of things I want to do before I even consider getting hitched. If I do, it's a long ways off*

Although that being said, if I do I totally want it to look like this:

(hipster music included)



and be as sweet/loving at this:

Makes me cry every time

*I can almost hear Ty sighing with relief, haha!
 

A voting message from Mr. Lahey

- by admin



Don't be a dickweed, GO VOTE!!

 

« All tags

« Newer posts

Older posts »